Mission Abort

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness.”  – 2 Peter 1:3

I don’t know about you, but I have been in a particular life situation that seems it has gone on and on so long, with so little change, that I simply want to give up.

Have you ever wanted to just quit.? Completely at the end of your tether.? Wanting to abort the mission He has you on because you have reached the point where you feel like you just can’t take it anymore.?

I know I have had my moments where I kind of look at God or just think to myself the things I would really like to know from HIm.. “God – what the are You doing? Why are You letting this happen to me?  What is this leading to.? How long are You going to let this go on?

When we’re being stretched and stretched and stretched … it feels as though we just can’t take anymore.

It feels as though if God allows us to be stretched by just one more millimetre, we’re going to snap.

The temptation is real to  just to throw our hands in the air, give up on God and His plan.  Truth is when you have gotten to that point the one thing that we simply don’t want to do, is the one thing that God wants us to do!

Isaiah 40:27-30 says, “Why do you say, O Jacob, and speak, O Israel, My way is hidden from the LORD, and my right is disregarded by my God”? Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and strengthens the powerless. Even youths will faint and be weary, and the young will fall exhausted;  but those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

So when we’re exhausted, when we’re beyond it, when we’re questioning God what’s the one thing He wants us to do?

Wait for the LORD and not abort the mission. WAIT expecting that God WILL do something. Expecting that God WILL strengthen you. Expect that He WILL come.

Why does He stretch us so far – almost to breaking point – and then ask us to wait expectantly on Him?

Because He wants us to learn firsthand even more about the faithfulness of God.  So Keep Trusting, Keep Waiting, Keep Expecting!  Don’t Abort The Mission.   Because…

Great is His faithfulness, Lord unto me. Morning by morning, new mercies I see. All I have needed His hand has provided, Great is your faithfulness Lord unto me.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”-Hebrews 12:1-2

Stay the Course! Complete The Mission!

Leave a comment