What Does Your Water Look Like

“The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”- Luke 6:45

The water we use sometimes concerns me. I will give you a couple of reasons why, have you ever turned on tap water and noticed that it was discolored maybe looked a little yellow or maybe even brown.? Not only that but I went to the sink one day to find some kind of creature coming out of the faucet. It kind of looked like a roly poly with all of it’s legs but smaller, skinnier, and shiny like aluminum foil. It was so small I was concerned with how many I may have drank in my water without knowing. YUCK! I don’t know about you but I prefer clear water.

Why, well if you must ask? Yellow or brown water with small creatures is disgusting. I don’t want it in my body, never mind in my pipes. Do You.? So let’s think for a moment a little deeper…What’s been flowing out of your mouth lately?

If only I would always be as concerned with the words that flow out of my mouth! Did you know your words have the power to destroy and the power to build up.? Just read Proverbs 18:21. Let me ask you some simple questions. Are you using words to build up people or destroy them? According to God’s word, the things we say flow from deep within. Our mouths are like faucets, out of which flows good or evil. What does that depend on.? The condition of our hearts. You can’t clean up the way you talk without addressing the heart problem. WHY.? Because it’s kind of like trying to purify water after it comes out of the tap. The real problem is deep in the pipes. The problem of sinful speech—like gossip, slander, grumbling, and lying can only be fixed by going deeper and finding the issue. We have to get at the heart to take care of the problem. We can’t change our hearts, but Jesus can.

His word says, “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.”- Ezekiel 36:26

Turning from sin and trusting in Jesus is what we are called to do:“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’”-John 7:38

Don’t mistake or get confused. I have a new heart but that doesn’t mean my heart will always produce what’s pure. I am still a sinner. But I’m a sinner who has been saved by grace to speak in a new way that edifies others and glorifies God.

The bible plainly says, “ Be careful what you say and protect your life. A careless talker destroys himself.”  Make sure you check the water before it fills your glass in other words before saying anything say nothing except “what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” -Ephesians 4:29

Be Careful What You Say.

Father God, forgive me for the sinful words that I have spoken without thought. Change my heart by Your Holy Spirit so that what I say brings good to others and glory to you. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer. In Your Name I pray, Amen.

Leave a comment